Permissions
Community knoodl / wiki / Help

Knoodl permissions allow a community to control which users are allowed to access the community's content as well as the actions those users can perform within the community. For example, a community could restrict all content to only its own members. Or, a community could give every user the ability to read most of the content and limit which members can contribute or edit that content. In short, Knoodl permissions allow a community to choose who can do what within that community.

Contents

Roles

Knoodl defines several roles (or jobs) to which users can be assigned, and these roles dictate the privileges of those users. These roles are:

Administrator
Full administrative control. (Community manager plus manage permissions.)
Community Manager
Manage community home pages, news, memberships. Also has the ability to create, change or delete wikis and vocabulary books.
Contributor
Create, delete, access and change all wiki and vocabulary books. Can also read community pages and news.
Reviewer
Read all content in the community, and can participate in discussions.
Guest
Read community pages, news, wiki pages, vocabulary pages.
Visitor
Read community pages and news, but none of the other community content

Members of the community that are given the Administrator role can view and manage the roles that are assigned to each community member. It is these assignments that determine for each user what part of the community they are allowed to see, change, or destroy. For example, any member assigned the role of Contributor is able to read all of the pages in a community (excluding membership information), can create or delete wikis or vocabularies, and can make changes to any page within the community's wikis or vocabularies. However, they cannot update the community home pages or news, manage memberships, or manage permissions.

A user can be assigned multiple roles, in which case they can anything granted to them by any of the roles. If a member is assigned the Reviewer and Visitor roles, they are allowed to read all content in the community and can participate in discussions. However, they are still not allowed to edit any of the other pages within the community. (In truth, being assigned Reviewer and Visitor is equivalent to being assigned Reviewer, since Reviewer can do everything that Visitor can do, plus participate in discussions.)

It is important to note that users will only see on the pages they view those links and actions for which they are allowed to execute. Therefore, if a user does not see an "Edit" tab for a wiki page, their privileges do not include editing wiki pages.

Managing Permissions

Only those members assigned the role of Administrators can view and manage permissions for a community. If you have this role for a community, you will see the "Permissions" link in the context menu below the main menu.

The "Permissions" link in the context menu
The "Permissions" link in the context menu

Click on this link to view the permissions for the community. The resulting page has three different steps for viewing and managing permissions for the community.

Step 1: Obtain a list of members

The first step is to choose the community members for which the permissions are to be shown. Some communities may be large, so showing all of the members would make the page quite long. This step makes it easy to filter the list to show only those members that you're interested in changing. Of course, there is a "Show all members" button that will add all of the community members.

Permissions Step 1
Permissions Step 1

Note that in addition to normal members, there are three choices that show up automatically that are of the form "<name>". These allow the privileges to be controlled for users that fit into these groups:

  • anonymous - Those users that do not log in and who are unknown by Knoodl.
  • non-members - Those users that have logged in but who are not members of this community.
  • member defaults - The privileges assigned automatically when new members join this community.

Any members that satisfy the filter and those of the 3 choices that are checked will all be shown in Step 2.

Step 2: Select the members

The second step in managing permissions is to view the roles for the members and, optionally, to choose the members whose roles are to be changed. In this step, you can see the roles that are assigned to the list of members resulting from Step 1, and can check those members for which you want to change the roles.

Permissions Step 2
Permissions Step 2

Simply check any member for which you want to change the role assignments. The "Select all" and "Deselect all" buttons are provided for convenience.

Step 3: Select the roles

The third step in managing permissions is to choose the roles that are to be assigned to the members selected in step 2. These selections will override any roles that are already assigned to the member(s), so be sure to check all that apply. Remember that a member may be assigned to zero or more roles; if none are assigned, the member (or group of members) have no privileges and cannot view the community information (although the community name and description will still appear when the user views the directory).

Permissions Step 3
Permissions Step 3


After you have selected the necessary roles for the members selected in Step 2, press the "Assign Roles" button to save the changes (which take effect immediately). Then, you may repeat the steps as necessary. When finished, simply navigate to another page.

Problems

Members of the community may complain that they are unable to do a certain task. It is up to the community, specifically those members that are assigned Administrators, to ensure that the members are assigned the proper roles.

About the content on this page:

Copyright © 2006-2007 Revelytix, Inc. All rights reserved.